What a wonderful time we had painting the West End mural on Sunday! It was a blast seeing so many people get together to beautify the Cardero Street. We had an amazing turnout, over 40 volunteers had signed up for the painting and our comments book is filled with lovely words of support for this project. There was also a lot of interest expressed in creating more murals in our neighbourhood.

I have received great photos from several people. Below is an image gallery with a selection of photos that show volunteers in the process of creating the mural. If you have more photos that you would like to share, please email them to me at westendmural@gmail.com and I’ll select a few more to add to the website.

I would like to thank everyone who participated and made this project possible. Strong and resilient neighbourhoods require participation and involvement of its residents so my heart was filled with joy when I saw beautiful smiling people of all ages work, play and have fun together making the West End what it really is, a vibrant, diverse and exciting neighbourhood. It is also extremely inspiring to live in the city where local government supports community projects like this. I hope more community building projects will continue to sprout throughout Vancouver.

Many thanks to Cloverdale Paint for donating paints and supplies for this mural.

